Week 6-“Overall its not about what I see or what the circumstances, these people need the Gospel of Jesus Christ and so do we.”

Hola!
On Monday I left the CCM for Guadalajara at 2:30am. It was an adventure and a little sad to say goodbye to my friends, especially two of them who weren’t going to be going to the mission, and returning home. It was a little hard on our district.

I arrived in Guadalajara around 8 or 9 and then the first thing they had us do was go work a normal day with a companionship. I got to work with Elder Viviana from Hurricane Utah and Elder Florres from somewhere in Mexico. I absolutely loved it. It was so fun but so much walking. My favorite part was reading the Book of Mormon with a member named Roberto. He was 15 and I loved him lots. It was kind of sad that whole day because I met a lot of people I knew I probably wouldn’t be serving any time soon. When we got back to the apartment I went to take a shower. Lol there wasn’t a shower head and there was a soda bottle with holes poked in the bottom taped to the pipe. So that was my first shower experience here.

Tuesday was just a fat training all day long and we got to spend a lot of time with Presidente Clayton and Hermana Clayton. I love them both so much and I’m so thankful for them. They were so welcoming right from the start. Towards the end of the day we received our trainers. Mine is Elder Taylor from California, right by Roseville! He seems pretty cool. He is obedient, and I’ve already learned from him. We were assigned to the San Blas area right outside Puerto Vallarta. Its about 6 hours from the mission offices, so we drove about half way that night and stayed with some elders. It was so fun it was straight Latinos. They called me gringo all night, but they were cool. The shower experience improved here, but this time Ihad to flush the toilet by pulling the plug in the back of the toilet to flush.

We woke up this morning and took a bus the rest of the way to San Blas. It’s so freaking hot here. Like humid as can be. I haven’t been dry in hours. It’s awesome. We had lunch with a member couple today. They were so nice and the food was dankkkkk (super good). We read the Book of Mormon with them and the husband started sobbing because he feels bad about his past. We read from D&C 58 with them and he seemed comforted but I’m not sure cause I dont know Spanish.I dont know what language they were teaching us in the CCM but it wasn’t Spanish. God speed Elder Cluff!  We have an appointment with some less actives a little later so we will see how that goes.

The homes I’ve had the opportunity to sit in have been very humble. Usually a couch and some windows with no glass and one light bulb in the middle of the room. I’ve already been humbled and I know that will continue to happen everyday. Especially since I only speak broken Spanish and can barely understand what they are saying. I absolutely love it. It’s going to be hard, and take some serious adjusting but I can feel a deep love for this work already. It’s seriously crazy to see some of this stuff. I saw four people on a Moped yesterday, and last night I saw a fairly limp body in the basket of a bike. There are  dogs everywhere, and I’ve already taken like 30 taxis. Never have I done that before but esta bien.  I love him and his Gospel and I know its true! Pictures next week!!!

PS pray for me to have the gift of tongues
Elder Cluff
week-5
Elder Cluffs first look at Mexico
Leave a Reply

