Week 6- ” I don’t know a lot of Spanish, but I know I enough to look someone in the eye and testify to them that I know that the gospel is true.”

Hello!

I survived week 1 in the mission field! It’s going to take some time to get used to this, but I’m excited. Its 100% different than anything I’ve ever experienced. It’s hot as can be and the most humid place I’ve ever been. I’ll adjust I hope.

     Our area has 550 members but only 50 are active. So we have some work to do. The members love to meet with us and promise us things but never follow through haha. But I know we just have to keep working.

     This culture is so different. Everyone is so kind and everyone will listen to us and feed us and help us which is a blessing. I love the people. There are probably 20 million dogs walking the streets of San Blas. I can bear testimony of why there are 20 million dogs here, I see it everyday lol. There’s also tons of geckos here. They are like skin color and in the night when they crawl by the lights you can see right through them. I saw one eat a bee last night and I could see it inside the gecko haha it was awesome. Rats crawl up the walls of the peoples homes while we teach them, it’s quite the experience. The other thing that is crazy to me is that the Mexican women love to feed their children, and not in private haha it’s out of control to be honest. I like it here though and I cant wait to become part of this culture.

     The hardest thing so far, that I wasn’t expecting, is just trying to accept the fact that I’m going to be here for two years haha. That and the language are the hardest things. I’m starting to understand more but it’s still hard to speak. I hope that I will improve fast.

I had the opportunity to clean the church this week. Haha try to imagine cleaning a Mexican church. I have a new respect for mothers who pretty much clean a Mexican church everyday. Moms are the best. Especially mine.

     I’m already learning so much, and I can feel growth even just in the first week here. I don’t know a lot of Spanish, but I know I enough to look someone in the eye and testify to them that I know that the gospel is true. I cant wait to be able to better communicate with them. This is definitely already the hardest thing I’ve ever done, and I have to rely on the Lord. I know that it will get better with time, but I’m already really enjoying it. Keep praying for me though.

Yo quierio compartir mi testimonio. Yo se que la iglesia es verdadera. Yo se que Jesucristo vive y murio por nuestro pecados. Mediante Él, podemos ser limpio, y podemos hacer todo. Yo se que Dios nos ama y nos quiere a regresar vivir con Él.

     I love you all, and I’m thankful for the prayers I feel. Please email me, I’d love to hear from everyone!!

Godspeed fam!

ElderCluff

week-6
Elder Cluff in his new hammock
Leave a Reply

