Week 36-“Lets make like Coriantumr and get the Shiz out”

Hola!

This week has been a lengthy one. But a good one. The weeks are feeling a little long right now because the investigators aren’t progressing. The other hard thing is that most of them can only meet or only want to meet one time a week, when normally we like to visit every other day. So often times we find ourselves with out very many set plans. But that’s not gonna stop anything. We are gonna keep going till we have our agenda full.

My comp and I are getting along great. Hes got this wicked impression of “Rex Kwon Do” from Napolean Dynamite. I was walking around the house a couple nights ago and he was just like “look at what I’m wearing…how’d you like a roundhouse kick to the face while I’m wearing these bad boys?… Forget about it” I died laughing. I literally passed away. Then later he was like ” do you think anybody thinks I’m a failure cause I go home to Starla at night” and I just couldn’t get a hold of myself. Haha then later in the week we were leaving church and he was just like “lets make like Coriantumr and get the Shiz out” I also died after that one. He couldn’t believe that I’m from Utah and I’ve never heard that. Let’s just say it made the journal.

We had zone conference this week! I love zone conference and I love President and Sister Clayton. It was such a good conference. This time it was like a pep talk. Like… you guys are doing alright but you can be way better. I always leave those conferences ready to baptize my whole area.

So normally to end the conference Sister Clayton talks with the Sisters and President talks to us. Something weird that happened was that Sister Clayton came in and started talking to us the Elders. She talked to us about how Satan is attacking us, and about how many Elders have problems on the mission with morality. (thoughts and actions) but what she told us was to trust in President Clayton and repent. I don’t know why she felt like she needed to tell the Elders that, but she did. And she did it straight forward. Its was awesome. I don’t have those problems, but obviously she knows that some Elders do and she gave some great counsel. I loved something that she did to end the little chat. She made us all hold our hands up and look at them and to promise that we would never touch or do anything we shouldn’t with them. She said it like ” I’m pleading with you as your mission mom to not let Satan win” she said with tears in her eyes ” I have never worried one time about what President Clayton is doing” and I felt the Spirit so strong. It gave me this renewed desire to be a strong righteous priesthood holder. I want my wife to be able to say the same thing. and I’m going to make sure she can.

The invitation Sister Clayton gave us about the Book of Mormon reading that we are doing right now is that we should dive in to every chapter. She said “help Nephi build the boat, pray side by side with Enos, cut a few arms off with Ammon, stand in king Lamonis court etc” and I thought it was a little funny but it made me excited to read like that. So I have and its so awesome. There is so much power in reading the Book of Mormon quickly. You are able to remember the stories, and better come to know the Book of Mormon. There is so much power in this challenge that President has given us.

On Saturday night, we passed by the houses of several investigators to invite them to church one more time. They all said oh yeah of course…. not one of them came. It’s so frustrating. But we will keep teaching, and we are going to focus the teaching on the Sabbath Day, hopefully that will help.

I know that this work is the best work. I know that I am where I’m supposed to be. I know that the Book of Mormon is the word of God. and that all of the teachings are true. It teaches us to be baptized or else we cannot be saved in the kingdom of god. Even though baptism is one of many steps, it is important, and I know that without a baptism we cannot enter Gods kingdom. How great is it that we have the restored priesthood authority to perform those ordinances? Heavenly Father loves us so much that he has given us the opportunity to follow his son Jesus Christ and be baptized. I know many people that read these letters are strong members of the church, but I invite those of you who are not members of the church to be baptized, and experience the joy of  starting again, and feel a new commitment to follow Jesus Christ.

I love you all and hope that this week is sublime.

Elder Cluff

Leave a Reply

