Week 37-“We need to show our God that we are ready to accept his will and act on promptings.”

Hola!

This week finished so great, talking to my mother. Shes just such a great mom and I’m glad I was able to talk with her. Until Christmas fam.

This week was actually a long one because my comp and I were both sick and we couldn’t leave the house for two of the days. We couldn’t leave the house because well, in simple terms, my companion couldn’t even leave the bathroom. Ate some bad shrimp or somethin. Not sure about it cause I ate a half pound of those delectable sea creatures and not a thing happened to me.

I’ve been thinking a lot this week about how I can find more people to teach, how we can find people that are ready to listen to us, and how we can help people progress. I’ve been pondering that because we really are struggling in all three of those categories. ‘Ive come to a conclusion and it sounds so normal but really it’s just that I need to rely more on the Lord. How I’m going to do it, not sure. But it will require a lot of prayer. Sometimes as a missionary, (maybe as normal church members too) we trick ourselves into thinking we are relying on our Heavenly Father, when really we aren’t doing that at all. Sure we pray and read the scriptures, but are we really putting everything into His hands and doing what He asks? Its almost overwhelming to think about trying to develop that type of relationship. We’ve all tried so many times haven’t we? We have all found ourselves begging on our knees for Heavenly help, but why is it that maybe we don’t feel like our relationship with Heavenly Father is progressing or like we aren’t receiving that help? Well probably because we don’t find ourselves begging every single night. We probably don’t find ourselves preparing for the prayer, and meditating it after. We forget to listen and find the answers. So how is it that we CAN do those things? I think its different for everyone. We need to show our God that we are ready to accept his will and act on promptings. We need to prepare ourselves to go before our Maker with an empty mind and a ready heart. We need to listen, after we pray, for the answers we are looking for. I think if we really focus and just get that feeling that He is there listening to us, then we are on the right track.

So that’s my plan this week, is to really focus on that. I really want to focus on not falling into that routine prayer cycle. I want to get something out of each prayer. It’s a lot easier said than done, but I’m gonna go for it.

I love being a missionary. I love being here in Mexico. Even though right now I’m having a hard time finding people that will listen to us, I know that I’m still having an impact in some way. I know that Heavenly Father is pleased with me, but I know I can do more.

The Book of Mormon is changing me as I dive into each story, and as I strive to understand whats going on. I’ve read the Book of Mormon many times before always just taking out the doctrine and the teaching. But this time I’m really focusing on who? why? and where? and I’m really getting a lot more out of those same doctrines.

My comp and I are making a timeline of the Book of Mormon and it’s super cool. I love reading the Book of Mormon with another person and seeing their insights. That’s why it’ll be super dope to be married in like 7 years.

I know that this church is true, and that it’s been restored by Joseph Smith. I know that it all leans of the Book of Mormon and the testimony that we have of it. I know that it’s true and that is contains the fullness of the Gospel. I know that the Prophet of God, Thomas S. Monson is the prophet called for this time. I know that he speaks face to face with Jesus Christ and that if he challenged us to read the Book of Mormon, we NEED to do it. So don’t put it off, and do it. I love you all and I know many blessings await us, even more than all the blessings that we are ALREADY receiving.

 

Until next week,

Elder Cluff

Leave a Reply

