Week 40-“As for right now I am the branch president in a very large branch and I’m not sure what in the heck I am doing”

Hola!!

This week was awesome. We got to have interviews with President Clayton and a training from Sister Clayton. I love those days. I love being trained cause they just receive straight revelation for all of us. We focused a ton on reading the scriptures. They told us that any thought impression or feeling we have while reading the scriptures is REVELATION. So that was a good reminder and they gave us the challenge to write all of those things that we feel or think right there in the scriptures wherever we are in the book. It’s been super awesome to see and realize that the more I write, the more I receive. Que loco.

We went to another area to help out a companionship with a baptism. That’s another interview I got to do, and I think it was one of the more special ones. I had little Carlos pray (9 years old) to start the interview. As he was praying it was just like your basic prayer but then all of the sudden he started talking to Heavenly Father. Unlike I have ever heard any kid pray. He was asking with all his heart to have help to be able to answer the interview questions so that he could be baptized. It was incredible and before I even could give the interview I knew he was ready. It was such a great experience. Learning to receive and recognize revelation has been something I have loved so much. I’m so thankful for this grand laboratory of a mission to learn all of these things and I know that they will shape my life forever.

We got home from helping with that baptism and went right to church. We got there, and I had already known that they were going to release our branch president but I didn’t know who they were going to call, and the district president, President Arias called me out into the hall. He said “Elder will you help us out and be the branch president?” Woah woah woah President, hold your Mexican horses. I don’t know if I can do that. He was like, “yeah President Clayton told me I could call you.” So there I was after the block, giving temple recommend interviews and counting fast offerings. President Clayton called me later that night and told me that president Arias did the whole thing wrong, but that I had his permission to be the branch president for a bit. So we will see how long it lasts, but as for right now I am the branch president in a very large branch and I’m not sure what in the heck I am doing. So that’s just a little taste of the mission for ya. Gotta stay on your toes at all times.

This is the last week of the transfer. I thought I was out of here but my new calling makes me think different. Goodness gracious I’ve been in this zone my entire mission and it’s actually very taxing. But I think all in all its the coolest zone in the mish. Its definitely the hottest though.

The nightmare of the Pday fast came true today. We couldn’t get our fast started on time so here we are right now, fasting away. I love it though, and I’m going to do it more often then I have been. I know that there is so much power in the fast and I never realized how often it talks about fasting in the Book of Mormon. It’s incredible. I love you all and I miss you all so much. I hope that you all realize the blessings you are getting everyday.

Elder Cluff

Leave a Reply

