Week 47-“I love that somehow we do hard things and little by little, hard thing after hard thing, we grow and change into the person that the Lord wants us to be.”

Hola!

Traaaaaaansfer Sunday! After almost an entire year in my zone, after four companions, tons of new friends, quite a new vocabulary, and a whole bunch of Mexico, I have been transferred. I got transferred to one of the cooler parts of the mission called Cocula. It is THE birth place of mariachi. It’s a little village but it is so pretty I love it. I loved driving into it. It’s all green and just like a breath of refreshing air after being in the hottest area in the mission. I feel great.

My companion is a stud. His name is Elder Barlow. He’s from Huntington Beach, California. The man is 6’9″ and I feel tiny walking next to him. But he’s a hooper so I’m sure we are gonna get along just fine. He has the same amount of time as Elder Koyle so it’s gonna be fun. I’m gonna keep being district leader so that will be fun. My companion has been in this area for what will be 7 months so the poor thing is gonna have to grind out another transfer. But he’s super pumped and excited so I’m happy.
We live next door to a panaderia (bakery) and the whole street just smells like Christmas. It’s awesome. Also the house isn’t nearly as bad as the one I was in. I think I won this transfer.

I’m really actually sad to leave Nayarit after a year. There are like certain sayings and gestures and stuff in that state that I wont use here and that makes me sad. I’m leaving a little piece of myself there, but I’m excited to start a new part of my mission here in Cocula.

The last month or so, as a mission we have been doing a Book of Mormon challenge. We have to write down on each page of the book something that helped us that day or sometime. I have learned so much and felt so much during this challenge. More than anything I have learned how the Book of Mormon speaks to me, and I think that is super important. It’s been awesome to see, and even more awesome to feel a bigger desire grow and grow to read it. I just pray every night that it can become a need in my life. Something I can’t go without. I want it to become a part of me so that when I come home it is a daily, constant thing. I have noticed that tons of missionaries stop reading the scriptures almost instantly when they get home and that’s just scary to me. I’m going to do everything I can to not let that happen and to get it engraven in my heart now.

I love the mission. Little things happen all the time that just make you love it. Like today I had to travel all by myself to a new area that I had no idea where it was. I was all sorts of stressed but somehow I did it. I love that somehow we do hard things and little by little, hard thing after hard thing, we grow and change into the person that the Lord wants us to be. 

I’m sure next email will be full of some crazy experiences and that my letter will be more interesting. I love this gospel and I’m thankful that it’s changing my life.

I love you all, have a good week!!

 

Elder Cluff

Leave a Reply

