Week 55-“Anytime we do what God wants us to do we feel happiness”

Hola!

This week was a good one. We started the week pretty well. The Zone Leaders wanted to have exchanges in our area so we planned that and on Wednesday we got to work with them and it was really fun. I got to work with Elder Christensen from Minnesota and he was able to help me and talk with me and we had a great day working together. The next morning we got to work a little bit more together, but that was just straight walking. We ate and then left to Guadalajara for a leadership training meeting. It was awesome. Anytime President or Sister Clayton speak we are all edified. President spoke a lot about motivation and commitment. He talked a lot about how we have to first be motivated if we expect our Districts to be excited about the work. He talked a lot. He spoke for about an hour and fifteen minutes. He talked about the Doctrine of God and about how, if it is understood, it will change us (our behavior and attitude). He said that if we understand who God is, his characteristics, powers, abilities, attributes, etc, than we won’t complain, we won’t want something different, or feel sorry for ourselves. But rather we will understand that our life is aligned with the will of the Father. I really loved that and I think its so true. All of our trials are for our good and they bless us so much. A friend wrote me a couple of weeks ago talking about how we have to learn that sadness nor happiness last forever and we need to learn to enjoy the moment that we are in. I loved that and I think it’s true. Sister Clayton spoke about our heart and how it has to be willing. She took a back door approach to the whole obedience thing and I really enjoyed her message. She talked about how we have to let the gospel INTO our hearts if we want it to change. If we do, than we will have a desire to be obedient and it will trickle down into our Districts. I love them both, they both speak with the Spirit and have a real effect on all the missionaries. President started his teaching with the phrase, “Every time we do what God wants us to do we will feel happiness.” He said it like thirty times in his talk and it really stuck with me. President always makes us powerful promises, but the promise he made us on Thursday was wild. He said “I know that you guys have to travel a lot as missionaries. Sometimes you travel to a little town far from your area to teach and the investigator ends up not being there.” He continued with tears in his eyes saying, “I promise that there is somebody waiting for you in those moments. I promise that as you talk to the first person that you see as you leave the door step you will find people that are ready and waiting to hear you.” I was like wow… that’s incredible. We don’t have to travel too much, but I figured that the principle applied with any appointment that falls through. Later the next day my comp and I were walking to an appointment. We got to the house and knocked and knocked and nobody came out. We walked away and passed the first person I saw. The spirit quietly reminded me of the promise so I turned around and walked up to the man. I introduced myself and explained who we are and what we do. I asked him if we could pass by to teach him. I was all pumped and excited. “This is the man, this is him. This guy is gonna get baptized.” These type of thoughts were running through my mind. The man looks at me and opens his mouth and says, ” I don’t want anything to do with you guys. I’m a catholic and I love my faith.” I walked away, but I was SUPER happy. Why? Because I did what I was asked to do, and anytime we do what God wants us to do we feel happiness. I love that concept and I believe it with my whole heart. I know that God blesses us. Always. As we read in Ether, the blessings come after the trial of our faith. Very seldom do the blessings come before we act, but they always come after. I know that this mission is the best place on earth and I’m so thankful to be here. I know the message we share blesses lives and changes behavior and attitude. I know that The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints has been restored along with the priesthood power of God and saving ordinances. I invite anyone who has doubts about the Church to read the Book of Mormon, ponder its message, and ask God in the name of Christ if it is true. When you receive your answer, I invite you to ACT, be baptized, and watch the blessings flow, now and forever.

I love you all! Have a stellar week.

Love, Elder Cluff

Leave a comment